On the road with Somerset Remembers

Whilst driving through the beautiful West Somerset countryside, on my way to Watchet Market House Museum to deliver the touring exhibition, I took the time to reflect on the past year and my role as the Somerset Remembers Project Officer.

Watchet Market House Museum

Watchet Market House Museum

My fascinating and diverse role has meant I have met many people from across the county, and I have learnt a great deal about how the First World War impacted the lives of Somerset people.

When I joined the project in June 2013 my work focused on the volunteer research projects and I was frequently seen in the searchroom at Somerset Heritage Centre making sure the volunteers were happy and engaged with their work.

From the beginning of this year I have been coordinating the schedule for the touring exhibition. So far I have taken the display (and showcases) to 10 different venues across the length and breadth of the county, with another 20 to go before the end of the year!

My other responsibilities include researching and writing articles for the blog, selecting ‘Pictures of the Week’, object selection for the temporary exhibition and administrative duties. I am also involved with organising our events programme.

Tools of the Trade

Tools of the Trade

The touring banner display with object showcase in the Holy Cross Chapel above Watchet Museum

The touring banner display with object showcase in the Holy Cross Chapel above Watchet Museum

I am now working behind-the-scenes of the temporary exhibition, drafting text for the labels, and researching content for the Somerset Remembers Community Archive.

It has been a busy but exciting year, and I am looking forward to the summer months when the community archive will go live and the exhibition will open at the Museum of Somerset, allowing people from across the county to get involved with the project.

Freya Ward, Project Officer, Somerset Remembers

Freya Ward, Project Officer, Somerset Remembers

Leave a Reply

